Sponsored

when I'm not working...

Hoblick

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang GT PP
I'm working.
here is a little of what i do when I'm not at my everyday job. I do powder coating out of my barn. I do a lot of motorcycle tire changes and suspension work in the spring/summer, but last year i decided to start doing this as well so i could fill my fall/winter time with some side work as well. this helps with modding the car faster lol, and its just fun to have a powder coating setup at my disposal. i built my own oven, and run a spectra coat powder coating system. I built a sandblasting booth as well, so that helps out a bit.

Im no pro by any means, but i do alright

Sponsored

Sponsored

Toofarfromjune

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Paul
Vehicle(s)
GTPP
Wow that's an awesome side gig. I would love to do something like that. What are the basics for the oven build? Bunch of fire brick and gas heat? Sorta on par with a kiln for ceramics or?

I have the space, and a huge local market to fufill, time to do some homework.

OP
OP

Hoblick

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang GT PP
That's how I built mine with the steel studs and sheet metal. The large cost is elements, heat resistant wiring, a good pdi controller, door seal, and I didn't have an extra 220 outlet so I had to run another. My cost on building mine.. Which is internally 6'x4.5'x4.5'. Was around $1200

OP
OP

Hoblick

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang GT PP
Just make sure you get a good powder coating system, and build a decent booth. I order all my powder through Prismaticpowder.com. Usually get my powder in 2 days

Toofarfromjune

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Paul
Vehicle(s)
GTPP