5 O UFO

Super Moderator
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Brian
Vehicle(s)
2017 GT Premium Convertible
I have only had two S550 cars - a 15 GT Premium and a 17 GT Premium Convertible. I am also pretty sensitive to different noises all of the cars I have owned have made from the time I purchased them to the time I sold them. Just my opinion, but I do believe that there is something going on with respect to the oil change timing coinciding with the ticking starting up in these cars. Nothing scientific, but definitely very coincidental.

Aside from Mustangs, I have also owned several Nissan 370Z cars. These cars employ a Nissan technology called VVEL (Variable Valve Event Lift) and from what I can glean from reading (I am no mechanic), this appears to be similar in function to the VVT (Variable Valve Timing) that our 5.0 Coyote engines are using. Maybe a real mechanic that has worked on both engines can confirm this? Anyway, in the 3.7 Nissan 370Z engine I have noticed that not using the recommended Nissan Ester based oil, the 370Z will generate what sounds like old school "lifter tapping" and it will be a much more noisy in that way. Interestingly enough, even a pure synthetic like M1 did not cure the 370Z noise. In order to really completely remove the noise it has to an ester based oil. Some Z guys use the original Nissan Ester oil, while others say that Redline will provide the same capability at quieting the noisy valve train. I can absolutely confirm in both 370Z cars I owned that this is true. When I used anything aside from Nissan Ester oil, I had this noise and simply switching back to it made the noise completely disappear. I never tried Redline and the information about Redline is only from what I read on the Z forums. But, Nissan Ester I can confirm solved the noise issue in the 370Z's that I had.