Lsstefan

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Stefan
Vehicle(s)
Mustang Ecoboost
Good day.
I own an EB only with turbo back exhaust and yesterday I got it remaped. I know the stock IC is horrible but I've seen a number of tuned EBs here with stock IC so I thought it can work decent. But the dealer went all grim and told me I really really really need one.
The tune is not aggresive, got a little more torque down low than what dyno charts I've seen on google by other companies. I use 99-100 RON fuel.

Before the remap I studied the IAT from the dashboard to see how it fares. I also read that a 10* difference from ambient temp is ok. (might be mistaken, internet...)

Outside was 32*. Sitting in traffic for a longer time got me to 60*. After a little roll(slow acceleration), it dropped to 50*. If the car is moving a lot, the temp goes to 42-44 and stays there.

I know I need a bigger IC, but i don't have the money atm. I always keep an eye on the IAT and if I see it high(eg after high traffic) I don't WOT it. I drive it slow until it drops more.
Is it safe to drive around with those temperatures? What's the max safe temp for IAT?

Thank you for the help.
Kind regards.
Sponsored

SYK

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 EB Premium PP Auto
IAT and Charge Air Temp (CAT) are two different thing. IAT doesnt care about Intercooler efficiency. IAT is the temperature as it enters the intake duct. Charge air temp cannot be seen from the car's display. You will need a tuner or OBD hooked up to view the information. IAT of any sort cannot be improved by any means. When you are moving, your IAT should come very close to the ambient temp displayed on the center display (+5~10F).

OP
OP
Lsstefan

Lsstefan

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Stefan
Vehicle(s)
Mustang Ecoboost
Ow... Thank you very much.
But if i have the IAT, can I determine the CAT? Not exact values, just a ballpark. That guy put some fear in me...

jbailer

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Joe
Vehicle(s)