Novice roadcourse wheel/tire setup

Todd15Fastback

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Todd
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang GT PP Fastback
Hello - I have tracked my previous cars but in a very mild fashion. More or less just a casual run around the track and not pushing the car at all.

With all the suspension upgrades I have done on my '15GTPP, I am ready to buy a dedicated wheel/tire setup over the next 2-3 months.

I would love to run an 18x9" or 18x10" square setup but not sure if there are any cheap wheels that will clear the 6 pot brembo's upfront? I don't want a crazy, expensive setup as I spend a small fortune on my everyday WORK wheel setup.

Anyone have recommendation on an 18" setup that will work? I can also go 19" setup, too. I like the RTR wheels that have come out and they are in the high $200 range and would like something even cheaper. Those wheels only weigh about 22-23lbs a piece.

Tires - I have no idea on what tires to go with. I am not an expert by any stretch of the imagination but would like to buy something that will allow me to grow with the tire and be able to push it as I become more comfortable with my car and the correct lines on the track.

Do I buy a tire like a BFG G-force sport comp2 which is an ultimate performance summer tire with a 340 treadwear or get something with 50-100 treadwear like a Pirelli Trofeo? I would like a 275/35 or 285/35 tire size unless someone recommends a different size.

I plan on running 2-4 track events a year in the Atlanta area for reference. This could be in Alabama, Georgia, Virginia, etc.

Thanks for any help on this as it will be much appreciated. I don't really have a budget but would like to stay at 2k and below for this dedicated track setup.
Sponsored

OP
OP
Todd15Fastback

Todd15Fastback

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Todd
Vehicle(s)

CrazedAntelope

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Chad
Vehicle(s)
Ecoboost Premium PP